Akwesasne Election Law Survey Completed; Next Steps Outlined

Enniska /February 16, 2017


The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne’s Election Law Working Task Group (WTG) has completed the 2016 Akwesasne Election Law Survey. The purpose of the new survey was to clarify direction for amendments to the Akwesasne Election Law (AEL) that were not clear from previous surveys. The results of the 2016 survey are indicated in the attached/below charts and graphs.

The next steps for the WTG will be to review and analyze the results of the survey and compare them with the results of the 2012 Governance Code Survey. The WTG will make amendments to the AEL and present a revised draft of the law to Council by March 31, 2017. Council will then amend and/or approve the draft and a referendum community vote will be scheduled to take place this year to ratify or reject the new AEL.

The Akwesasne Election Law Working Task Group consists of the following representatives:

  • MCA Executive Director
  • MCA Director of Justice
  • MCA Mohawk Government Support Manager
  • Ex-Officio Members (non-voting):One Kawehno:ke Chief. One Kana:takon Chief, One Tsi Snaihne Chief, and the Akwesasne Chief Electoral Officer


The AEL has been a work-in-progress since 2005. See the attached notice, pages 2 and beyond, for the summary of the AEL’s history and next steps, followed by the results of the 2016 Akwesasne Election Law Survey.