MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



COMMUNITY NOTICE

<u>For Immediate Release</u>: Seskéha/August 2, 2024

NOTICE OF VOTERS LIST, NOMINATIONS AND GENERAL ELECTION

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne and Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) announce the following dates and deadlines for the newly scheduled MCA Nominations and MCA General Election.

Nominations

Nominations for the 2024 Mohawk Council of Akwesasne General Election will be held on <u>Saturday</u>, <u>August 24, 2024</u>, <u>from 9 a.m. until 1 p.m.</u> Nominations will be received for the four District Chief positions for each of the three districts and one Grand Chief position.

Nominations will be held at the following locations:

Kawehno:ke: Tri-District Elders

Kana:takon: Akwesasne Justice Department (Old Tickets' store – 45 Johnson Road)

Tsi Snaihne: Tsi Snaihne Recreation Center

Please note that a person may nominate one candidate for Grand Chief and a limit of four District Chief positions. A nomination must be seconded. To be considered an Eligible Voter, a person at the time of voting must:

- 1. have attained eighteen years of age,
- 2. be a resident in the district where they are voting,
- 3. be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne, and
- 4. be an Onkwehonwe.

Any candidate for the position of Grand Chief or District Chief must:

- 1. have attained the age of 18 years,
- 2. have resided in the territory of Akwesasne for one year immediately preceding the date of election,
- 3. be a registered member of the Mohawks of Akwesasne,
- 4. be an Onkwehonwe.
- 5. be nominated for the position by at least two persons eligible to vote for that person, and
- 6. not be a CEO, DEO, USP or Appointed Observer as contemplated in this Election Law.

MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



General Election

The General Election will be held on <u>Saturday</u>, <u>September 14</u>, <u>2024</u>, <u>from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m</u>. at the following locations:

Kawehno:ke: Tri-District Elders

Kana:takon: Kana:takon Recreation Center **Tsi Snaihne:** Tsi Snaihne Recreation Center

Please bring identification such as a status card to confirm your identity to the DEOs.

Advance Polls

Advance Polling shall take place on September 4 and September 11, 2024, by appointment, at the Akwesasne Justice Department (45 Johnson Road, Kana:takon). Please contact CEO Theresa Thompson at 613-575-2250 or 613-551-1622 or email chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca to make an appointment.

If an eligible voter has a valid reason for being unable to vote in person on Election Day or Advance Polling dates and location, the CEO will arrange to have Deputy Electoral Officers visit the eligible voter's location within the Territory of Akwesasne, in order that he/she may vote.

Voters List

Please review the Voters List to ensure your name is listed. Community members are advised to contact the CEO as soon as possible if your name is missing. It is imperative that each voter confirms they are on the list if they plan to vote in the upcoming election.

Voters List Locations:

Kawehno:ke: BMO, Express Gas, Jock's Quick Stop, Athres Convenience

Kana:takon: Village Currency, Canada Post Office, MCA Justice Department, Kanonhkwatsheri:io

Tsi Snaihne: Snye Life Convenience Store, Iohahi:io, and King's Marina

You may also contact the CEO directly to confirm if your name is on the list.

The deadline for any changes to the Voters List is 9 a.m. on Thursday, September 12,

2024. After 9 a.m., no changes can be made to the Voters list. A voter who is not yet 18 but turns 18 years old in that 48-hour period before voting day or turns 18 on voting day can be added to the list before the deadline.

The community is advised that it is a violation of the Akwesasne Election Law to fraudulently interfere with the election, including tampering with or removing a Voters List.

MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



CEO Contact

To contact the Chief Electoral Officer Theresa Thompson for any election purpose, please call 613-575-2250 or 613-551-1622 or email chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca.