## MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



**COMMUNITY NOTICE** 

For Immediate Release: Seskéha/August 24, 2024

#### UNOFFICIAL NOMINEES FOR MCA GENERAL ELECTION

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Theresa Thompson has released the following UNOFFICIAL list of nominees for the upcoming Mohawk Council of Akwesasne General Election. Nominations were held on Saturday, August 24, 2024.

Nomination packages will be delivered to candidates within 48 hours. **Candidates have until Wednesday, August 28, 2024, at 12 p.m. noon to accept their nomination.** Those nominated must submit their acceptance or withdrawal to the CEO at the Akwesasne Justice Department (45 Johnson Road, Kana:takon) during their regular hours of operation.

The official list of candidates will be released once verified by the CEO. The MCA General Election will be held on **September 14, 2024,** from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Chief Electoral Officer Theresa Thompson at 613-551-1622 or by email at chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca.

#### **Grand Chief Nominees - Kawehno:ke:**

Candidate	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
Edward Roundpoint	Allie Oakes-McCumber	Louie David
Leonard Lazore	Marion White	Tyler White
Edward Roundpoint	Gary Cole	Elaine Cole
Leonard Lazore	Jon Michael Lazore	Theresa L Benedict
Michael K Mitchell	Patricia Oakes	Bernice Lazore
<b>Edward Roundpoint</b>	Kimberly Jacobs	Peter Jacobs
Edward Roundpoint	Debbie Jocko	Lynn Martin
Edward Roundpoint	Patrick Benedict	Amanda Benedict

#### **Grand Chief Nominees - Kana:takon:**

Candidate	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
Edward Roundpoint	Shelby Mitchell	Amanda Jacobs
Leonard Lazore	Ernestine Oakes	Laura Francis
Leonard Lazore	Theresa White	Caroline King
Leonard Lazore	Johanne Jackson	Jerry Jackson

1

# MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



#### **Grand Chief Nominees - Tsi Snaihne:**

Candidate	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
Edward Roundpoint	Esther Jock	Joseph Jock
Leonard Lazore	Lucy Lazore	Joseph Lazore
Ronald Sunday	Nichelle Loran	Aaron Loran
Leonard Lazore	Leila Lazore	Thomas Lazore
Leonard Lazore	Ieronhenehtha Lazore	Shannon Lazore
Leonard Lazore	Josphine Herne	Marlon Johnson

#### **Kawehno:ke District Chief Nominees:**

Candidate	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
DJ White	Allie Oakes-McCumber	Louie David
Vanessa Adams	Jane David	Richard David
Vincent Thompson	Loretta David	Nelson P Leaf
Lacey Pierce	Jon Michael Lazore	Theresa L Benedict
DJ White	Bernice Lazore	Patricia Oakes
Lisa Francis-Benedict	Bernice Lazore	Patricia Oakes
Lacey Pierce	Debbie Jocko	Lynn Martin
Lisa Benedict	Debbie Jocko	Lynn Martin
Vanessa Adams	Debbie Jocko	Lynn Martin
Patricia Lazore	Erin Seymour	Ruth Seymour
Jackie Benedict	Patrick Benedict	Amanda Benedict
Vincent Thompson	Patrick Benedict	Amanda Benedict
Jackie Benedict	Rebecca White	Tricia Benedict

## **Kana:takon District Chief Nominees:**

Candidate	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
Theresa Jacobs	Laura Francis	Ernestine Oakes
Cindy Francis-Mitchell	Laura Francis	Ernestine Oakes
Fallon David	Laura Francis	Ernestine Oakes
Fallon David	Owen Lazore	Joanne Lazore
Fallon David	Shelby Thompson	Sam Benedict
Theresa Jacobs	Roy Thompson	Carlee King
Teresa Oakes	Austin Oakes	Paul Tim Thompson
Sherril A Thomas	Florence Phillips	Shirley Phillips
Cindy Francis-Mitchell	Alexander Thompson	Anthony Ty David
Fallon David	Alexander Thompson	Anthony Ty David
Fallon David	Margaret Thompson	Macey Thompson
Falllon David	Stacey Thompson	Laura Thompson
Cindy Francis-Mitchell	Stacey Thompson	Laura Thompson

# MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



Theresa Jacobs	Johanne Jackson	Jerry Jackson
Cindy Francis-Mitchell	Jerry Jackson	Johanne Jackson
Fallon David	Johanne Jackson	Jerry Jackson
Julie Phillips-Jacobs	Shirley Phillips	Florence Phillips
Teresa Oakes	Shirley Phillips	Florence Phillips
Cheryl Jacobs	Amanda Jacobs	Shelby Mitchell
Cheryl Jacobs	Johanne Jackson	Jerry Jackson

## **Tsi Snaihne District Chief Nominees:**

Candidate	Nominated By:	Seconded By:
Joann Swamp	Harry King	Joseph Jock
Scott Peters	Cynthia Lazore Garrow	Brant Garrow
Jon Square	Roberta Lazore	Pamela Jacobs
Scott Peters	Pamela Jacobs	Roberta Lazore
Jon Jay Square	Lucy Lazore	Joseph Lazore
Sarah Lee Sunday Diabo	Angeline Sunday	Alex McDonald
Scott Peters	John Bay	Crystal Delormier
Morris John Adams	Denise D Jackson	Darcy Jackson
Sarah Lee Sunday Diabo	John Bay	Crystal Delormier
Marlon Johnson	Melissa Johnson	Elizabeth Peters
Scott Peters	Elizabeth Peters	Melissa Johnson
Morris John Adams	Ronald Sunday	Collin Sunday
April Adams-Phillips	Krysta Phillips	Andi Phillips
Marlon Johnson	Reginald Herne	Josephine Herne
Toby Sunday	Tyler Sunday	Shannon Sunday
Tesha Rourke	Linda Sunday	James Sunday
Sheila Adams	Valerie Peters Mitchell	Michael Mitchell
Joann Swamp	Charlotte Swamp	Brent Thompson
George Terrance	Sabrina Adams	Valerie Peters Mitchell
Connie Lazore	Leila Lazore	Shannon L Lazore
Connie Lazore	Thomas M Lazore	Ieronhenehtha Lazore
Sarah Lee Sunday Diabo	Ieronhenehtha Lazore	Thomas M Lazore
Joann Swamp	Thomas M Lazore	Ieronhenehtha Lazore
Joann Swamp	Leila Lazore	Shannon L Lazore
Scott Peters	Shannon L Lazore	Leila Lazore
Scott Peters	Ieronhenehtha Lazore	Thomas M Lazore
Sarah Lee Sunday Diabo	Shannon L Lazore	Leila Lazore
Kathrine Cook	Marlon Johnson	Josephine Herne
George Terrance	Whitney Roundpoint	Sabrina Adams