

## **OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER**

For Immediate Release: Enníska/March 5, 2025

# CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER PROVIDES DISTRICT CHIEF PETITION RESULTS

At the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA) General Meeting on January 30, 2025, held in the District of Kawehno:ke, two (2) petitions were presented to remove two (2) sitting members of Council under Section 16.(2)(a) of the Akwesasne Election Law.

On Thursday, February 27, 2025, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) presented the petition results at the General Meeting (duly convened meeting of the MCA) held in the District of Tsi Snaihne.

The petitions were examined using the General Elections Voter's List from September 14, 2024, dated September 12, 2024. The results were as follows:

- The petition to remove District of Kana:takon Chief Teresa Oakes was deemed null and void.
- The petition to remove District of Kawehno:ke Chief Vanessa Adams was deemed null and void.

### Chief Vanessa Adams results are as follows:

TOTAL # ON PETITION	BAND # DIDN'T MATCH (VOID)	BAND # WRONG (VOID)	NO SIGNATURE (VOID)	VALID: KANA:TAKON	VALID: TSI SNAIHNE	VALID: KAWEHNO:KE	TOTAL # OF VALID SIGNATURES	NOT ON THE VOTERS LIST
163	2	1	1	30	60	32	<mark>122</mark>	37

#### Total signatures needed to be valid: <u>150</u>

#### Chief Teresa Oakes results are as follows:

TOTAL # ON PETITION	ILLEGIBLE	NO BAND #	VALID: KANA:TAKON	VALID: TSI SNAIHNE	VALID: KAWEHNO:KE	TOTAL # OF VALID SIGNATURES	NOT ON THE VOTERS LIST
99	1	2	27	42	6	<mark>75</mark>	21

#### Total signatures needed to be valid: 84



The CEO is also in receipt of another petition regarding proposed changes to the Akwesasne Election Law. This petition was received at the General Meeting on February 27, 2025; results will be provided once the verification process is complete.

The Chief Electoral Officer strongly encourages all community members to review the Voters List to ensure their name is included for any Election or By-Election. If your name is missing from a publicly posted Voters List, contact the CEO as soon as possible.

For questions or concerns, please contact Chief Electoral Officer Cheryl Jacobs at:

- chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca
- **%** 613-575-2250 ext. 2126

PHONE: 613-575-2250 FAX: 613-575-2181 AKWESASNE-LAND WHERE THE PARTRIDGE DRUMS PO BOX 90 101 TEWESATENI ROAD AKWESASNE, QUEBEC HOM1 A0 AKWESASNE, ONTARIO K6H 0G5

WWW.AKWESASNE.CA INFO@AKWESASNE.CA