MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

For Immediate Release: Enniskó:wa/March 21, 2025

AKWESASNE MEMBERSHIP BOARD NOMINATIONS — OFFICIAL RESULTS

The Chief Electoral Officer is providing the community with the official results of the nominations held on Saturday, March 8, 2025, for the By-Election of the Akwesasne Membership Board. The confirmed nominations are as follows:

District of Tsi Snaihne:

1 seat available (two-year term) – Acclaimed to Cathy Mitchell

District of Kana:takon:

1 seat available (four-year term) – A By-Election will be held on **April 5, 2025** from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at Kana:takon School (28 Second Street, Kana:takon).

Candidates for the District of Kana:takon:

Cody David Rachel Smoke-Wheatley

Community members are encouraged to check the Voters Lists, posted at the Canada Post Office and Village Currency, to confirm their eligibility. If your name is not listed, please contact the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) immediately.

Advance polls will take place by appointment only at the Angus Mitchell Memorial Building on:

- **Tuesday, April 1, 2025** 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.
- **Wednesday, April 2, 2025** 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

The final Voters List will be completed 48 hours before the By-Election. If you are not yet registered, you must do so by **Thursday, April 3** at 9 a.m.

For questions or inquiries, please contact the **Chief Electoral Officer** at **613-575-2250 ext. 2126** or **chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca**.