## MOHAWK COUNCIL OF AKWESASNE

Sustaining our inherent rights, facing challenges together to build a strong and healthy future.



## OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

For Immediate Release: Onerahtókha/April 10, 2025

## OFFICIAL BY-ELECTION RESULTS: AKWESASNE MEMBERSHIP BOARD

The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne Chief Electoral Officer, Cheryl Jacobs, has provided the official results of the by-election for the Akwesasne Membership Board (District of Kana:takon) that was held on Saturday, April 5, 2025.

No appeals were filed by the deadline of 2 p.m. on Thursday, April 10, 2025.

## Official Results for One (1) Seat—Kana:takon 4-Year Term (time remaining):

NAME	TOTAL # OF VOTES
Cody David	33
Rachel Smoke-Wheatley	14

Cathy Mitchell was acclaimed for one (1) seat —Tsi Snaihne 2-year term (time remaining)

Cody David and Cathy Mitchell are duly elected to the Akwesasne Membership Board.

For questions or inquiries, please contact the Chief Electoral Officer at 613-575-2250 ext. 2126 or via email at chief.electoral.officer@akwesasne.ca.